Skip to main content Skip to footer

Traffic Prosecution

If you were cited for a traffic violation, you may qualify for "deferred traffic prosecution" through the State of Utah, or you may qualify for a plea in abeyance through the Draper City Court. Here are the steps you should take to determine your qualifications for either program.

To determine if you qualify for deferred prosecution, please visit the Utah State Courts website.

  • Have a clean driving record for the 24 months before your citation
  • Be over the age of 21
  • Have a Utah driver's license
  • Have a non-CDL license
  • Be charged with a moving violation that is an infraction
  • Be charged with only one moving violation
  • Not have received the ticket in connection with a traffic accident
  • Not have been speeding 20 mph over the speed limit or speeding at 100 mph or more

  • Enter a no-contest plea to the charge on the ticket
  • Pay the ticket within 14 days of application approval
  • Pay an administrative fee ($5.00) to the courts
  • Have no further violations of the law for the next 12 months
  • Apply within 21 days from the date of citation 

If you do all these things, your ticket will be dismissed at the end of 12 months. No report of the ticket will be made to the Driver License Division (DLD); thus, no points will be added to your driving record. For further information regarding the DLD point system, please visit the DLD's Utah Point System page.

If you have any questions about deferred traffic prosecution, you may contact the court.

If you do not qualify for deferred prosecution, you may contact the court to see if you are eligible for a plea in abeyance.

Plea in Abeyance

Eligible violators may be able to have their guilty plea held in abeyance and ultimately dismissed rather than posted as a conviction

The Draper City Prosecutor has given blanket authorization for minor traffic violators to enter a "Plea-in-Abeyance" before the Draper Justice Court provided certain eligibility requirements are met. 

No other moving traffic violation conviction anywhere within the last 12 months. The court will check your record. 

This citation must not be for any of the following:

  • Any drug or alcohol-related violation
  • Reckless driving or racing
  • Speeding in a school zone
  • Speeding 21 mph or more over the limit
  • Multiple moving violations
  • Any other serious mandatory court appearance violation

If you meet the criteria, contact the Draper Justice Court between 5 to 14 days from the citation date to verify eligibility. The bail amount and an additional $25 abeyance fee will be part of the plea in abeyance agreement. 

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.