
 
 
 

 

 
RECREATIONAL FIRES: Small recreational campfires are allowed.  Fuel area cannot exceed 3ft diameter by 2ft in 

height.  Burn only dry, clean, natural materials...…no garbage, tires, oil or construction waste.  Prior to burning:  

 

 Verify green burn conditions.  Air quality forecast can be found at http://air.utah.gov/forecast.php?id=slc  

 Keep open fires 25 feet away from structures or combustible materials.  Fires contained in an improved barbeque 

pit or portable outdoor fireplace require a minimum of 15 feet of clearance from structures or combustible 

materials.  

 Have a method of extinguishment readily available.  

 Fires must be constantly attended until fully extinguished. 

 

“Offensive, Objectionable, or Nuisance” fires are no longer required to be extinguished unless the fire is causing a 

hazardous situation.  If all burning requirements are met and the fire is not causing a hazardous situation, the fire 

department does not have the authority to extinguish the fire.    

 

 Citizens will not use the fire department to resolve neighborhood disputes regarding smoke emissions. Such 

situations are civil matters rather than unlawful acts subject to the penalties prescribed in Section 110 of the 2018 

International Fire Code. 

 

RESIDENTIAL OPEN BURNING: Residential burning of clean yard waste, grass clippings, weeds, tree trimmings, etc.  

 

Salt Lake County: Residential open burning is not allowed in Salt Lake County.   

 

AGRICULTURAL BURNING: Agricultural burning is allowed without a permit in Salt Lake County.  Burning is 

limited to agricultural and horticultural operations.  Burning is limited to ditch banks, fence lines, field stubble, orchard 

pruning, controlled heating to prevent the freezing of crops, etc.  

 

 A minimum of 5 contiguous acres of land used for Agricultural or Horticultural operation is required.  

 Land is actively devoted to an agricultural use and is managed in such a way as to be profitable.  

 Operation must meet the annual “per acre” production requirements for Salt Lake County.  

 Must verify green burn conditions.  The burn index can be found at http://air.utah.gov/forecast.php?id=np  or 
you can Download the UtahAir app on: Android | iOS 

 Must contact VECC dispatch @ 801-840-4000 with name, address and time of burn prior to starting the burn 

operation in Salt Lake County.  

 

 

If you have questions feel free to contact:     Don Buckley 

Fire Marshal 
Draper City Fire Department 
1020 East Pioneer Rd. 
Draper Utah 84020 
Cell: 801-824-3714 
don.buckley@draperutah.gov  
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Residential Open Burning 

Residential open burning is the burning of clean yard waste, grass clippings, weeds, tree trimmings, etc. 

 Salt Lake County: Residential open burning is not allowed.  

                    

Recreational Fires 

The fire code allows residents to have small recreational fires at their residence.  The fuel area (“Fire 

pit”) cannot exceed 3ft diameter by 2ft in height.  Burning is limited to dry, clean, natural 

materials……no garbage, plastics, rubber, oils or construction waste.   

Verify that it is a green burn day by checking the air quality forecast. You can find that out by going to 

https://air.utah.gov/forecast.php  or you can Download the UtahAir app on: Android | iOS 

Keep open fires 25 feet away from structures or combustible materials.  Fires contained in an improved 

barbecue pits or portable outdoor fireplace require a minimum of 15 feet of clearance.  LP or natural gas 

fire pits or grills require 10 feet of clearance. 

Have a method of extinguishment readily available.  Keep a garden hose or bucket of water close by. 

Fires must be constantly attended until fully extinguished. 

“Offensive, Objectionable, or Nuisance” fires are no longer required to be extinguished unless the fire is 

causing a hazardous situation.  If all burning requirements are met and the fire is not causing a hazardous 

situation, the fire department does not have the authority to extinguish the fire.   
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